Suggest a topic

Thread: New Antenna Blog by Phil Karras KE3FL

New Antenna Blog by Phil Karras KE3FL

Greetings!

I've been offered a volunteer guest blogger position here at Solid Signal and have been contemplating just what to write about.

I'm a physicist by education and have worked in the optical, fluid dynamics, high-powered LASER as well as all manner of IT and software development fields. I am probably what was once called a "jack of all trades, master of none." However, my level of "jacking" can rise to that of a master when my interest is focused on any particular subject long enough. Or, at least, I hope it can.

My hobbies include Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) and my interests are in the antenna designing, building, construction side of ham radio as well as general radio and TV, with some circuit design and building thrown in for good measure.

In the last few years I've helped others get the TV stations back that they lost with the change to DTV. I have been trying various TV antennas to get back my own lost TV signals from Washington D.C.

I live in a small Carroll County, MD, town called Mount Airy. Looking up the TV stations I should be able to receive (as purported on TV Fool using the "Check Your Address for Free TV" link), I was originally hopeful that I could receive all of the stations I was able to receive when there was analog TV. When we bought our present home in March 1991, we were told by the former owner that we could receive all TV stations from both Baltimore and Washington, D.C., with a TV and a "rabbit ears" antenna. This was mostly true for the VHF stations but not so for the UHF stations, especially those from Washington.